TCF Feedback on October 20 Agenda Item 8.1 Staff Report

TCF Feedback on October 20, 2021
Agenda Item 8.1 Staff Report

Dear Mayor Haroff and Members of the Larkspur City Council:

The Commons Foundation (TCF) has reviewed Agenda Item 8.1 Staff Report and would like to provide the following feedback:

Item 1: Should the staff develop a plan to place the Larkspur Library on the Community Facility Parcel (CFP) at Rose Lane in temporary and permanent structure (s)?

TCF Recommendation: Yes, the City Council should instruct the City staff to develop a plan to place the Larkspur Library permanently on the CFP at Rose Lane.

Moving the Library to the CFP, permanently in a Phase 1 configuration of 5,000 square feet or more is consistent with the fundraising we have done to date and has the broadest public support.

Item 4: If permanent facilities are built on the CFP, should staff explore modular construction in lieu of more traditional building techniques?

TCF Recommendation: Yes, the City Council should instruct the City staff to explore all construction options for the new Larkspur Library at the CFP.

The City staff should look at modular, tilt up concrete, and any other construction technologies available that would reduce the cost of the new building, reduce the time to build and open, and uphold the architectural integrity of the design relative to the neighborhoods.

The Commons Foundation

The Commons Foundation is a citizen-led 501(c)(3) organization, whose mission is to fund, build and sustain a new modern Larkspur Library. TCF is the designated non-profit partner of City to raise $5M in funds for building Phase 1 of the new modern library at The Commons. We have raised $1.8M in cash and pledges as of 10/21.

TCF Leadership & Major Donors & Leaders: Lori Lerner & Terry Berkemeier, Sally Bertuccelli McDonough, Joanne Bethalmy Estate, Laurie P. & Scott Dubin, Kristi & Jonathan Ellenzweig, Barbara & Karl Friday, Jeanne Friedel, Gabriel Gesmer, Jeanette Giacomini, Jan & Robert Ginsberg, Gleason-Stromberg Foundation, Katherine & Brandhan Green, Kathy & Christopher Hartzell, Marian & Bill Howard, Marisa & Joe Jennings, Christina (Tina) McArthur,  Dyan & Peter Pike, Rosine Reynolds & Steve Stein, Mimi Sardou, and Cindy & Chris Winship.

Government & Community Endorsements: Larkspur City Council, The Library Board of Trustees, Larkspur Parks & Recreation Commission, Friends of the Larkspur Library, Larkspur Library Foundation, and the Larkspur Community Foundation.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely yours,

Joe Jennings
The Commons Foundation

Share This Post

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates and learn from the best